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Overview 
The objective of this quick reference guide is to provide general information on the process of premium 
overtime time records in HRIS as it relates to the Agency Payroll Specialist.  The guide is not intended to 
be all-inclusive and may not offer step-by-step instructions. 

Under the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA), codified as Title 29, Chapter 8 of the United States Code, 
non-exempt employees must be paid at least 1 ½  times their regular rate of pay for all time physically 
worked over 40 hours in a workweek.  You can view an employee’s FLSA status on the Pay Plan field on 
the Assignment Tab or Pay Tab of HR11.1.  Non-Exempt employees are in the Pay Plan, FLSA NON-
EXEMPT-OT OVER 40HRS. Outside Arizona employees may be enrolled in a Non-Exempt pay plan 
specific to their state’s overtime laws. 

FLSA Non-Exempt employees who work in excess of 40 hours per workweek will receive either 
additional pay at the rate of 1 ½ times the employee’s regular rate or, if the employee and Agency 
agree, compensatory leave at the rate of 1 ½ hours for each excess hour worked, provided they have not 
reached the compensatory leave maximum. 

FLSA also defines exceptions to the overtime in “excess of 40 hours” rule for specific jobs (i.e., fire 
fighters).  State employees meeting the criteria are assigned to pay plans appropriate for the rule. 

Agency Payroll Functions 
1. Calculate premium overtime for a dismissed employee handwrite 

2. Calculate premium overtime for a prior pay period recovery of overtime 

3. Calculate premium overtime for an employee who switches from the Non-Exempt (NEXP) pay 
plan to the Exempt (EXP) or the Excluded (EXC) pay plan in the middle of a pay period 

Deadlines 
A.R.S. §23.351.C.3 - Overtime or exception pay shall be paid no later than sixteen days after the end of 
the most recent pay period. 

Payroll Cycle 
Payroll jobs use a 10-day cycle. Use this reference chart to determine the day of the week when Day 
Numbers are referred to in this guide. 

Week Monday Tuesday Wednesday Thursday Friday 
Week 1 
Compute 

Day 1 Day 2 Day 3 Day 4 Day 5 

Week 2 Off 
Compute 

Day 6 Day 7 Day 8 Day 9 Day 10 
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Helpful Resources and Documents 

Policies 
Federal 
Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) 

Department of Labor: “Overtime” Regular Rate of Pay computation 

Arizona Revised Statutes 
Arizona Revised Statutes (A.R.S.) §23.351 Designation of pay days for employees; payment; exceptions; violation; 
classification 

SAAM 
SAAM 5515 Payroll and Personnel Time Reporting 

Personnel Rules 
State Personnel System Rules section R2-5A-404 

Forms 
Payroll Guide III. G. 
Premium Overtime Calculator 

Calculate Premium Overtime 
The premium overtime calculation uses the State workweek, which begins Saturday at 12:00:00a.m. and 
ends Friday at 11:59:59 p.m.  The system will perform the premium overtime calculation during payroll 
processing on compute Tuesday.  The program will add all of the premium overtime pay to system 
generated pay code 999 for all employees eligible to receive premium overtime that are currently in the 
Non-Exempt pay plan. The system generated stipend pay codes pays up to 40 hours in a week; stipends 
on hours in excess of 40 will automatically be generated to pay code 998. 

Pay Codes Included in the Premium Overtime Calculation 
The HRIS Pay Code Listing has an OT column to indicate if the pay code is included in OT (Overtime).  
Only hours physically worked are included in the premium overtime calculation.  Paid time off (Annual, 
Sick, Holiday, Comp, Civic Duty, Bereavement, etc.) is not included in the calculation for overtime but 
may be included in the stipend calculations that may affect overtime. HRIS Pay Code Listing 

Premium Overtime Calculator 
Use the Premium Overtime Calculator in section III.G. of the Agency Payroll Guide to calculate overtime 
premium due for manual entry on a handwrite or adjustment. Pay code 997 is used on handwrites or to 
make adjustments to pay code 999. Pay code 996 is used on handwrites or to make adjustments to pay 
code 998. 

The Premium Overtime Calculator uses the following formula: 

▪ Total Hours Worked* × Base Pay Rate + Shift Differential + Stipends + Non-discretionary
Bonus = Eligible Pay

▪ Eligible Pay ÷ Total Hours Worked = Regular Rate of Pay

▪ Regular Rate of Pay × .5 = Premium Overtime Rate

https://www.dol.gov/agencies/whd/flsa
http://www.dol.gov/whd/FOH/FOH_Ch32.pdf
https://www.azleg.gov/ars/23/00351.htm
https://gao.az.gov/sites/default/files/5515%20Time%20Reporting%20161011.pdf
https://apps.azsos.gov/public_services/Title_02/2-05.pdf
https://www.google.com/url?q=https://gao.az.gov/sites/default/files/APG_I_C_HRIS_Pay_Code_Listing.xls&sa=D&source=hangouts&ust=1590255096560000&usg=AFQjCNF-A5p3O5-z7QMnsYUxcWHGa0bSew
https://gao.az.gov/payroll-rasl/payroll-guide
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▪ Premium Overtime Rate × Overtime (Pay Code 101) hours worked = Premium Overtime 
Pay (Pay Code 999/997) 

*Total Hours Worked does not include any hours associated with a paid leave of absence such as 
Holiday Pay, Annual Leave, Sick Leave, etc. 

Premium Overtime Calculation Examples 

1. Base Pay (no additional pay). Employee worked 48 hours in Week 1 and makes $10 per hour 

▪ Eligible Pay   48 x $10.00 = $480.00 

▪ Regular Rate   $480.00 ÷ 48 = $10.00 

▪ Premium Overtime Rate $10.00 x .5 = $5.00 

▪ Premium Overtime Pay 999 $5.00 x 8 = $40.00  

2. Base Pay + Retention Bonus. Employee worked 48 hours in Week 1, makes $10 per hour and 
receives 5% retention bonus  

▪ Eligible Pay   (48 x $10.00) + (48 x $10 x 5%) = $504.00 

▪ Regular Rate   $504.00 ÷ 48 = $10.50 

▪ Premium Overtime Rate $10.50 x .5 = $5.25 

▪ Premium Overtime Pay 999 $5.25 x 8 = $42.00  

3. Base Pay + Retention Bonus + Stipends. Employee worked 48 hours in Week 1, makes $10 per 
hour, receives 5% retention bonus, a 10% geographical stipend and a $50 per week retention 
stipend  

▪ Eligible Pay   (48 x $10) + (48 x $10 x 5%) + (40 x $10 x 10%) + 

     (40 x $1.25) +(8 x $10 x 10%) + (8 x $1.25) =$612.00 

▪ Regular Rate   $612.00 ÷ 48 = $12.75 

▪ Premium Overtime Rate $12.75 x .5 = $6.375 

▪ Premium Overtime Pay 999  $6.375 x 8 = $51.00 

 

When do I enter premium overtime time records? 
Pay code 997 is used for all manual entries of premium overtime (999). 

1. Enter 997 with a negative amount for prior period recoveries 

2. Enter 997 with a positive amount for prior period adjustments when the employee is currently in 
an ineligible pay plan 

3. Enter 997 with a positive amount and offsetting negative amount to correct Labor Distribution 
(entries will wash) 

4. Enter 997 with a positive amount on handwrites ONLY for dismissed employees 
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Employee transfers pay plan from Non-Exempt (NEXP) to Exempt 
(EXP) or Excluded (EXC) prior to compute 
The system will only perform premium overtime calculations for employees who are in the FLSA NON-
EXEMPT-OT OVER 40HRS pay plan on compute Tuesday.  An employee who has changes to their pay 
plan (from NEXP to EXP or EXC) prior to compute Tuesday must have the premium overtime manually 
calculated and manually added to HRIS using pay code 997. 

Prior Pay Period Premium Overtime Adjustments 
Paying additional hours in previous workweeks 
If the employee is still in the NEXP (non-exempt) pay plan, the system will calculate any additional 
premium overtime due to the employee based on the time records entered.  The system will perform a 
recalculation for each workweek affected and take into consideration premium overtime that was 
already paid to pay code 999 or 997.   

Recovering hours in a workweek with Premium Overtime 
The system will not calculate the recovery of premium overtime.  You need to manually calculate 
the premium overtime to recover.   

1. Enter a negative Rate amount using pay code 997  

2. Do not use hours with pay code 997 

3. The recovery of premium overtime paid in a prior calendar year must be completed using the 
GAO-70a – Overpayment Worksheet in order to capture the various rates that were in place at 
the time each payment was made 

Examples 
1. Employee originally worked 48 hours in Week 1 and makes $10 per hour. Employee received 

$40.00 in premium overtime for the workweek: 

▪ Eligible Pay   48 x $10.00 = $480.00 

▪ Regular Rate   $480.00 ÷ 48 = $10.00 

▪ Premium Overtime Rate $10.00 x .5 = $5.00 

▪ Premium Overtime Pay 999 $5.00 x 8 = $40.00   

2. Employee left early one day and used 6 hours of Annual Leave. New Premium Overtime 
Calculation: 

▪ Eligible Pay   42 x $10.00 = $420.00 

▪ Regular Rate   $420.00 ÷ 42 = $10.00 

▪ Premium Overtime Rate $10.00 x .5 = $5.00 

▪ Premium Overtime Pay earned $5.00 x 2 = $10.00 

▪ Premium Overtime Recovery 997 $10.00 - $40.00 = -$30.00 
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3. The time record adjustment on XR35.2 would be: 

  

ZR131 Retroactive Pay Calculation and Overtime 
The system will calculate any premium overtime due for each week in the retro period only if the 
employee’s current pay plan is FLSA NON –EXEMPT-OT OVER 40HRS.  The 999 time records are added 
Tuesday night during payroll compute processing.  

If the ZR131 is for a negative amount, the system will not calculate any premium overtime recovery.  
You will need to manually calculate and add the premium overtime recovery using pay code 
997 for each week the employee received overtime premium. 

 

Need Assistance?  
View the Central Payroll Directory click here 

Why do I receive an error when entering pay code 101? 
1. Check employee pay plan on HR11 – Field must be either FLSA NON –EXEMPT-OT OVER 40HRS 

or FLSA EXEMPT-STRAIGHT TIME.  

2. Check CASH/COMP field on HR11 – Field must be set to CASH or EITHER to use pay code 101. 
Contact your Agency Human Resources if the field needs to be changed. 

3. Total working hours for the week do not total at least 40 hours. Under Federal law, overtime 
compensation and/or compensatory time is not earned in any workweek until forty (40) hours 
have been worked. 

 

https://gao.az.gov/sites/default/files/APG_II_A_Agency_Payroll_Resource_Contact_List_0.pdf

	Overview
	Agency Payroll Functions
	Deadlines
	Payroll Cycle

	Helpful Resources and Documents
	Policies
	Federal
	Arizona Revised Statutes
	SAAM
	Personnel Rules

	Forms

	Calculate Premium Overtime
	Pay Codes Included in the Premium Overtime Calculation
	Premium Overtime Calculator
	Premium Overtime Calculation Examples


	When do I enter premium overtime time records?
	Employee transfers pay plan from Non-Exempt (NEXP) to Exempt (EXP) or Excluded (EXC) prior to compute
	Prior Pay Period Premium Overtime Adjustments
	Paying additional hours in previous workweeks
	Recovering hours in a workweek with Premium Overtime

	Examples

	ZR131 Retroactive Pay Calculation and Overtime
	Need Assistance?
	Why do I receive an error when entering pay code 101?


