
RETIREE ACCUMULATED SICK 

LEAVE (RASL) PROGRAM 

The following questions and answers clarify the RASL 

Program (SAAM 5575 and A.R.S. § 38-615 and § 38-616.)  

ELIGIBILITY 

Q:  How do I qualify for this benefit? 

A:   You must do all of the following: 

1) Be an active State (including University) employee

at the time of separation from State service. Separation

may be due to voluntary or involuntary reasons,

including death.

2) Establish an effective retirement date by qualifying

with an Authorized State of Arizona Retirement

System. This retirement date must be within 31

calendar days after separation from State service.

3) Have at least 500 or more hours of unused sick leave

available for use at the time of separation from State

service.

Q:  What are the Authorized Retirement Systems 

available for current State employees? 

A:  The Authorized Retirement Systems are: the Arizona 

State Retirement System (ASRS), the Public Safety 

Personnel Retirement System (PSPRS), the Corrections 

Officer Retirement Plan (CORP), the Optional 

Retirement Program (ORP) established by the Arizona 

Board of Regents, or be an employee of a State 

University under the jurisdiction of the Arizona Board of 

Regents participating in a Federal Retirement System.    

Q:  Arizona law (A.R.S. § 38-764.I) allows certain ASRS 

members to retire and receive a pension without 

separation of employment.  Would such a retiree 

qualify for the RASL Program? 

A:  No. The RASL Program requires separation first, 

followed by retirement within 31 calendar days. 

BENEFIT VALUE CALCULATIONS 

Q:  What is the maximum benefit that I can receive? 

A:  The maximum total benefit you can receive for RASL is 

$30,000, per person, per retirement system.  For RASL 

purposes, you may only retire once per retirement plan. 

Q:  How is the benefit value calculated? 

A:  The benefit value is calculated by taking the hourly rate 

of pay on the date of separation from State service, 

multiplied by the number of unused sick leave hours at 

separation (up to 1,500 hours), multiplied by the 

applicable percentage: 

 25%; (at least 500 but less than 749 sick leave 
hours); or

 33%; (at least 750 but less than 999 sick 
leave hours); or

 50%; (at least 1,000 up to the maximum of 
1,500 sick leave hours).

Example: If a retiree had a balance of 1,500 sick leave 

hours and separated with an hourly rate of pay of $20 an 

hour, his or her total benefit would be (1,500 x 20 x 

50%) = $15,000. 

Q:  If I have more than 1,500 hours of sick leave, what 

happens to the unused hours? 

A:  Hours in excess of the 1,500 maximum cannot be used 

for any other purpose. Any excess hours must be 

forfeited and will be purged from all payroll systems. 

PROCEDURE FOR APPLYING FOR RASL BENEFITS 

Q:  What do I have to do to receive the RASL benefit? 

A:  1) Retire by establishing an effective retirement date with 

an Authorized State Retirement System that is no more 

than 31 calendar days after separation from State service.  

2) Complete RASL Form GAO-SL-50 available at

gao.az.gov/payroll/rasl.

3) Submit Form GAO-SL-50 to your RASL liaison in
your agency HR/Payroll office.  Both the retiree and the

agency sections must be completed prior to submission

to the GAO. Agency to email the completed application 
and supporting documentation to RASL@azdoa.gov.
4) You have a maximum of 180 calendar days from
your effective retirement date to ensure that your 
completed RASL application has been received by the 
GAO.  The responsibility for ensuring that the GAO 
receives all required documents by the deadline rests 
totally and exclusively with the retiree.

Q:   What happens if I do not apply for RASL within 

180 days after my effective retirement date? 

A:  You forfeit your eligibility to receive the RASL benefit. 

WARRANT OR DIRECT DEPOSIT PAYMENTS 

Q:  How do I receive the RASL benefit? 

A:  The RASL benefit will be scheduled in 3 equal annual 

payments. You may choose to have a warrant (check) 

mailed to you or have your payments electronically 

deposited into your bank account (direct deposit). You 

may be eligible to roll a portion of your first payment 

into the State sponsored deferred compensation plan. 

Q:  May I elect a lump sum? 

A:  No. Retirees do not have the option to elect a lump sum. 

Although A.R.S. § 38-615 has been changed effective 

9/30/09 to grant the RASL Program the authority to 

make lump sum payments for all who are RASL eligible, 

a change to the payment policy has not been made. 

Q:  When will I receive the RASL benefit? 

A:  Normally you should receive a payment between 60 to 

90 days from the date the GAO receives your completed 

RASL application from your agency (not 60 to 90 days 

after retirement).  Please be aware that your agency must 

wait until after your final agency paycheck has been 

issued to complete the agency section of the RASL 

application. Processing times are longest for retirees 

separating from State service at fiscal year end (June 30) 

and at calendar year end (December 31). 

Q:  Can I accelerate my benefit payments in the event of 

an emergency? 

A:  No, you cannot accelerate any of the benefit payments, 

except in the case of the retiree’s death. 

http://www.gao.az.gov/payroll/rasl


TAX and RELATED QUESTIONS 

Q: Is this benefit subject to Federal, Social Security, 

Medicare, and State tax withholdings? 

A:  Yes, pursuant to IRS Publication 15, (Circular E), 

Employer’s Tax Guide, payment for accumulated sick 

leave after retirement is considered supplemental wages 

and not a retirement benefit. Federal, Social Security and 

Medicare taxes are withheld from each payment. Arizona 

State tax is also withheld, even if you move to another 

state, because the income was earned in Arizona. 

Amounts rolled into a deferred compensation account are 

subject only to Social Security and Medicare taxes. 

Q: Can I put this money into a deferred compensation 

plan through the RASL Program? 

A:  Yes, you may be eligible to rollover a portion of your 

first payment into a State-sponsored deferred 

compensation plan.  

In order to elect to defer, you must do all of the following: 

1) Enroll in Deferred Compensation prior to separation

from employment.

2) Submit the RASL Deferral Notification Form directly

to the state-sponsored deferred compensation provider no

later than the last day of the month prior to the month of

the anticipated first RASL payment.

3) Ensure that your completed Form GAO-SL-50 is

received by the GAO no later than 30 calendar days after

separation from employment.

Q: If I am eligible for Social Security, does the RASL 

benefit amount received count as part of the allowed 

annual earnings? 

A:  No. RASL payments are considered special wage 

payments and are excluded from the Social Security 

annual earnings test. You may request Form SSA-131 

from the GAO stating that the RASL benefit was earned 

in prior years (for Social Security purposes only).  

BENEFICIARY INFORMATION 

Q:  Can I name a beneficiary for this Program? 

A:  Yes. One beneficiary can be named and he/she may be 

different from a beneficiary named for other purposes. 

Q:  Under what circumstances will the beneficiary 

receive any payment? 

A:  If an employee is eligible for normal retirement and dies 

while employed by the State or dies while participating 

in the RASL Program, the beneficiary will be scheduled 

to receive the balance due in a lump sum payment. 

Q:  How does the beneficiary claim the RASL benefit? 

A:  The beneficiary must submit a copy of the death 

certificate and a notarized affidavit (GAO-36a, GAO-

36b, or GAO-36c) to the GAO. The beneficiary can 

obtain blank affidavits from the decedent’s prior agency 

HR office or from the GAO website gao.az.gov. 

OTHER POSSIBLE CONCERNS 

Q:  If I retire from one of the Authorized Retirement 

Systems with an excess of 1,500 unused sick leave 

hours, participate in the RASL Program, then hire 

into another job that participates in a different 

Authorized Retirement System, will it be possible to 

transfer the unused sick leave hours in excess of 1,500 

into the second system, rather than have them 

purged? 

A:  No.  All paid and unused sick leave hours will be purged 

upon a retiree’s participation in the RASL Program. If 

you contribute to another retirement system you will 

have to start with a zero balance and accumulate new 

sick leave hours. 

Q:  Can I leave State service (without establishing an 

effective retirement date with an Authorized 

Retirement System that is within 31 calendar days 

after separation from State service), hire into a non-

State agency or company, then later retire from the 

non-State agency or company, and still be eligible for 

the RASL benefit? 

A:  No.  The RASL Program requires separation from State 

service first, followed by retirement within 31 days. 

Q:  If I leave State service, am later rehired into State 

service, and then retire from State service, would I be 

eligible for the RASL benefit? 

A:  Yes, provided that you have the requisite number of sick 

leave hours available to you at separation and that you 

meet all of the other requirements of the RASL Program. 

Q:  If I go on voluntary leave without pay or any other 

type of approved leave, separate from employment 

with the State, and then retire the next day, am I 

eligible for the RASL benefit? 

A:  Yes, provided you meet the criteria for participation in 

the RASL Program. 
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